Thursday, February 20, 2014

RUSH Guitarist ALEX LIFESON To Guest On New JOHN WESLEY Album 'Disconnect'

Legendary RUSH guitarist Alex Lifeson makes a guest appearance on the track "Once A Warrior", to be included on guitarist, singer and composer John Wesley's (SOUND OF CONTACT, FISH, STEVE ROTHERY) brand new studio album, "Disconnect", due on April 1 via InsideOut Music.
The Blake Cortes-directed video for the "Disconnect" title track can be seen below.

John had this to say about the video: "The concept behind the video was to touch upon a sci-fi story I read years ago about a man who was 'overdrawn' at the Memory Bank, a place you could go to when you had to 'disconnect' from a painful memory, but at the risk of losing your mind..."

"Disconnect" track listing:
01. Disconnect
02. Any Old Saint
03. Once A Warrior
04. Window
05. Gets You Everytime
06. Mary Will
07. Take What You Need
08. How Goes The War
09. New Life Old Sweat
10. Satellite
Said John: "'Disconnect' is the culmination of all the musical input I have had in the past several years.
"I am a fan of so many different types of music and being able to perform with artists that take huge chances musically, such as Fish, PORCUPINE TREE and Steven Wilson, led me to a new place creatively.
"My focus has been on playing guitar for so long, so the songs on this record really came to life on the guitar.
"I had a great team of musicians to work with and the result is my best work to date.
"With this album, I was able to achieve a more aggressive guitar-oriented sound that is colored by my progressive influences.
"'Disconnect' has many of the same elements of my previous work — lyrical depth, song orientation — but I really feel that I pushed my boundaries musically, with my playing and the song arrangements, more so than in my past work.

"InsideOut is the perfect home for this album."

John's last release was "The Lilypad Suite" EP, which came out in 2011. He has since then been playing with the likes of Steven Wilson and SOUND OF CONTACT, as well as keeping busy with session work. "Disconnect" marks his first full-length studio release since 2005's "Shiver".