Saturday, August 29, 2009

News Bytes For The Month Of August

News Bytes For August:

  • Morglbl's September tour of the eastern United States, has been cancelled due to Visa problems. The band is currently fixing the issue, but will not play any of their scheduled dates
  • The classic progressive rock band Eloy are looking to release a new album soon called "Visionary"
  • Esoteric Records is planning to re release the Rick Wakeman catalog in 2010. Also Tony Banks A Curious Feeling is to reissued as well
  • Rush is planning to get back into the studio this autumn
  • Rosfest is moving to Majestic Theater in Gettysburg, PA
  • Kinetic Element is to release their new disc on September 5th
  • Moonjune Records to release 2 CD set of Holdsworth/Pasqua/Haslip/Wackerman titled Blues For Tony. The disc is a tribute to the late great drummer Tony Williams
  • Legendary Univers Zero/Present bassist Guy Segers, along with Acid Mother Temple guitarist Makoto Kawabata, Mani NEUMEIER from Guru Guru on drums, Daevid Allen on vocals and guitar performed at the "Zappanale" festival in Bad Doberan, Germany on August 14th
  • Guitarist Scott McGill can be found soloing over a fusion backing track on YouTube by Jan Cyrka of He is also prepping to release a new album with Ritchie DeCarlo, Percy Jones (Brand X, Tunnels) and Markus Reuter (Pat Mastelotto). The release date is forthcoming
  • August 30th from the Conversations in the Key of Moog
    At 1 PM, join us for a fascinating look into the world of synthesis with experts Brian Kehew and Larry Fast. Fast is best known for his series of pioneering electronic music albums recorded under the project name SYNERGY and for his contribution to a number of popular music acts, including: Peter Gabriel, Hall & Oates, Foreigner, Richie Sambora, Barbra Streisand, Randy Newman and others. Brian Kehew is a musician and music producer who contributed to the development of the Minimoog Voyager, Little Phatty synthesizers, and Moogerfooger effect pedals. Kehew is also known for his book "Recording the Beatles," his band, Moog Cookbook, and his keyboard work touring with The Who.
  • Progressive rock band Renaissance is to have a 40th year anniversary tour in the autumn
  • Transatlantic to release their new album The Whirlwind in October

Friday, August 28, 2009

Former MEGADETH Guitarist's OHMPHREY Confirmed For JAM CRUISE 8

OHMPHREY, the new band featuring Chris Poland (OHM:, MEGADETH) and Robertino Pagliari (OHM:) alongside jam-band masters Jake Cinnger, Joel Cummins, and Kris Myer of UMPHREY'S MCGEE, has been confirmed for Jam Cruise 8, which will set sail January 3-8, 2010 on the beautiful Italian ship: MSC Poesia. The cruise will leave from Ft Lauderdale's Port Everglades and head to Ocho Rios, Jamaica and Georgetown, Cayman Islands. It is described as "a musical journey like no other."

For more information, visit

OHMPHREY's self-titled debut album was released on May 19 through Magna Carta Records.

Check out audio samples at

Extensive Miles Davis Box Set To Be Released

From Tom Breihan at

During his tenure at Columbia Records, Miles Davis recorded an awe-inspiring 52 albums. Pretty soon, you'll be able to own all of them in one gigantic box that will probably be heavy enough to kill someone.
On November 10,
Columbia/Legacy will release The Complete Columbia Album Collection. The box will include (seriously) 70 CDs and one DVD, and somehow it's that one DVD that makes the whole thing look like overkill. The DVD is Live in Europe '67, which will be on DVD for the first time ever with this set. The set will also include a previously unreleased live recording of Davis's performance at the 1970 Isle of Wight Festival.
According to Legacy, the CDs will all come in "Japanese-styled mini LP jackets", which sounds cool. The CDs will include bonus tracks that have been tacked on to Davis reissues over the years. There will also be a 250-page book.
The whole massive brick of a thing will be available exclusively from
Amazon, and it'll run you $369.98, which is kind of a bargain. That's about five bucks a disc!

Thanks to Progarchives