Tuesday, September 7, 2010

MIND KEY Announces New Drummer

Italian progressive metallers MIND KEY have announced the addition of drummer Mirkko De Maio to the group's ranks. The band states, "We're happy because we think that Mirkko is the right man for his musical background, his experience (although he's quite young) and mainly for his incredible energy and taste in playing drums. We think he's the right musician to continue MIND KEY's musical path and we can't wait to return on stage to show you what an amazing musician Mirkko is. He's a fuckin' metal drummer guys, you'll notice!"

MIND KEY's second album, "Pulse For A Graveheart", was released in July 2009 via Frontiers Records.

MIND KEY debuted in 2004 with "Journey Of A Rough Diamond", an album that showed the excellent potential of the Neapolitan combo. With a colourful sound, akin to such prog metal giants as DREAM THEATER, SYMPHONY X, EVERGREY and PAIN OF SALVATION, MIND KEY's music also leaned towards a more mature and song-oriented approach inspired by '80/'90s hard rock. Right before the release of the album, the original frontman Mark Basile left the group and in preparation of the tour dates, the guys met for the first time Aurelio Fierro Jr., a singer with a vast experience especially in theatres. He was able to give some splendid performances especially in the gigs that the band landed as support of DREAM THEATER for the Italian "Train Of Thought Tour 2004".

MIND KEY played more live dates in support of VISION DIVINE and PENDRAGON and also appeared at the Progpower Europe festival, with shows in Poland, Switzerland, Holland, Germany and France. During the Polish dates, a live DVD, "Habemus Poland", was recorded, with Giorgio Adamo as frontman. However he soon left to make space for the return of Aurelio Fierro. Founding member and keyboardist Dario De Cicco explains: "We decided to go for Aurelio at the end of the songwriting sessions. Note after note, chord after chord, we realized that the songs begged for Aurelio's voice and it seemed almost a necessary decision to make. I think we did the right choice as only with his astonishing performances we were able to reach what we really wanted from the new material."

The band began the recording of the second album, "Pulse for a Graveheart", simplifying their songwriting and giving the chance to Fierro to showcase his immense vocal potential which can be described as a powerful mix of Ronnie James Dio, David Coverdale and Jorn Lande. The album was later mixed and mastered by none other than Dennis Ward (PINK CREAM 69, ANGRA, KROKUS, PLACE VENDOME) to ensure the best sounding quality. According to guitarist Emanuele Colella, "We knew from the beginning that Dennis was the right choice! Since the first communication together a perfect synergy was built. He could understand our need and desire to combine a modern melodic metal sound with our progressive roots and an heavier edge. He could totally deliver what we and the music needed, he's just great."

"Pulse for a Graveheart" features guest appearances by Derek Sherinian (DREAM THEATER, ALICE COOPER), who plays a keyboard solo on "Citizen of Greed", Reb Beach (WHITESNAKE, WINGER) on "Now Until Forever", and Tom Englund from EVERGREY, dueting with Elio Fierro on "Graveheart".

No comments: