Tuesday, May 24, 2011

MIKE PORTNOY's THE BEATLES Tribute Band Releases 'One More Night In New York City' CD, DVD

After having had such a fun experience the first time around in 2003, drummer Mike Portnoy (ex-DREAM THEATER), guitarist Paul Gilbert (RACER X, MR. BIG) and guitarist/keyboardist Neal Morse (ex-SPOCK'S BEARD) reunited as YELLOW MATTER CUSTARD in February 2011 to once again pay tribute to their greatest influence of all: THE BEATLES.

Due to a scheduling conflict (and further fueling the "Paul is dead" rumors), original YELLOW MATTER CUSTARD bassist Matt Bissonette was unable to join the band this time and was replaced by UTOPIA legend Kasim Sulton.

YELLOW MATTER CUSTARD's February 28, 2011 concert at B.B. King Blues Club & Grill in New York City is now available as a two-CD and DVD set from (CD, DVD).

"One More Night In New York City" track listing (CD and DVD):

Side 1:

01. Intro
02. Back In The USSR
03. I Got A Feeling
04. And Your Bird Can Sing
05. Day Tripper
06. Getting Better
07. Taxman
08. It Won't Be Long
09. You Really Got A Hold On Me
10. Lady Madonna
11. We Can Work It Out
12. I'm A Loser
13. I Don't Want To Spoil The Party
14. Penny Lane
15. The Fool On The Hill
16. You've Got To Hide Your Love Away
17. Things We Said Today
18. If I Needed Someone
19. It's Only Love
20. Request Time/Too Many People

Side 2:

01. She's A Woman
02. The Word
03. Any Time At All
04. Paperback Writer
05. Don't Let Me Down
06. I'm So Tired
07. Savoy Truffle
08. Glass Onion
09. Yer Blues
10. Helter Skelter
11. Flying
12. Because
13. You Never Give Me Your Money
14. Sun King
15. Mean Mr. Mustard
16. Her Majesty
17. Polythene Pam
18. She Came In Through The Bathroom Window
19. Golden Slumbers
20. Carry That Weight
21. The End

DVD Bonus Features:

* Interview with Mike Portnoy and Paul Gilbert
* Rehearsal footage

YELLOW MATTER CUSTARD in 2005 issued a live DVD entitled "One Night in New York City". Recorded live at New York's B.B. King Blues Club & Grill on May 18, 2003, the set saw YELLOW MATTER CUSTARD performing some well-known BEATLES songs such as "Nowhere Man" and "Revolution", as well as more obscure tunes like "I Call Your Name", "Think For Yourself" and even a hilarious rendition of the "Let it Be" b-side "You Know My Name".

No comments: