Wednesday, January 25, 2012

New album From Porcupine Tree Drummer Plus A Week Of Give-Aways

The Man Who Sold Himself, the new album from the collaboration between Porcupine Tree drummer Gavin Harrison and the multi-instrumentalist, singer-songwriter 05Ric, will be released on Kscope on February 27th 2012.
Gavin has recently created a new signature drum stick in conjunction with Vic Firth, his drum stick supplier.
In addition to being voted best Progressive Drummer four years in a row in the Modern Drummer Magazine's readers poll, Gavin was also recently invited to perform on the David Letterman show as part of his Drum Solo week.
Best known for his work with Porcupine Tree, he has also played extensively with King Crimson as well as providing session drumming for a host of respected artists but his work with 05Ric has allowed him to develop some of the work that he has created outside these projects.
05Ric uses his voice, extended range bass and guitars to turn his love of sound into sonic tapestries. His vocals, virtuoso playing and a chance meeting between the two has led to one of the most interesting and complex musical collaborations in recent years.
To celebrate the release and the new sticks, Vic Firth are running a special Gavin Harrison give away this week. Each day someone will win:

· 1 pair Gavin Harrison signature drumsticks

· Zildjian t-shirt

· Hardcase t-shirt and hat

· Autographed copy of Rhythmic Horizons (DVD)

· The Man Who Sold Himself (CD)

And at the end of the week one lucky winner will win the grand prize, which includes all these goodies:
· 12 pairs of Gavin Harrison’s signature stick

· 16" Zildjian Oriental “Trash”

· Sonor Select Force 10×5″ Side Snare

· Tama Speed Cobra Double Bass Pedal

· Porter and Davies “BC Gigster”

· Zildjian t-shirt

· Remo drumheads

· Hardcase t-shirt, polo shirt and hat

· Autographed copy of Rhythmic Horizons (DVD)

· The Man Who Sold Himself (CD)

To have a chance of winning you need to go to this page:

The Man Who Sold Himself will be released as a 2 disc set which, alongside the stereo mix of the album on CD, features a 5.1 mix on DVD, allowing fans to enjoy the intricate complexities of the album in full surround glory. A montage of the tracks can be heard on The Man Who Sold Himself mini-site.

The union of 05Ric’s distinctive style with Gavin’s extraordinary drumming has already produced some unique results but Gavin has stated that with The Man Who Sold Himself, 'we have continued to push the boundaries of our rhythmic and harmonic possibilities, I believe these are some of the wildest rhythmic concepts that I have ever conjured and 05Ric has snaked his bass around.'

05Ric goes on to explain that lyrically the album deals with themes “based on the greed of the financial global crisis, the empty shallowness of goal seeking without passion or for its own sake and the destructive force left behind by selfish behaviour - but the central character through heightened awareness and right action discovers his true calling.”
The album, which was written over the last two years and recorded in mid-2011, is the duo's first release since Circles in 2009. Circles was described by Classic Rock Prog as 'bristling with instrumental technique and firepower... it is peppered with a pulsating, muscular funk that pushes through generic barriers to create its own unique space.'

The Man Who Sold Himself looks set to push these barriers even further.

The set can now be pre-ordered from The Man Who Sold Himself mini-site. In addition to the montage, the site also features a free MP3, downloads and more.

1 comment:

Jony Gibson said...

You give me nice post to us.Thank you for the recommendation and sharing information with us.
Drum programs