Monday, June 25, 2012

RUSH: More 'Clockwork Angels' First-Week Chart Positions Revealed -

RUSH's first new collection of original material in over five years and their first studio release via Anthem/Roadrunner Records, "Clockwork Angels", has registered the following first-week chart positions:

Canada: #1
USA: #2
Japan: #2
Norway: #10
Germany: #11
Holland: #11
Switzerland: #21

The album also currently holds the top spot on the Weekly Top 20 by Philadelphia radio program the Gagliarchives.

"Clockwork Angels" sold 103,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release.

RUSH's 18th studio album, "Snakes & Arrows", debuted at No. 3 on the Billboard album chart in May 2007 with sales of 93,000 copies. The disc was the first collection of all-new RUSH material since 2002's "Vapor Trails" and the 27th RUSH release to make the Billboard album chart. The band's chart peak was in 1993, when "Counterparts" debuted at No. 2.

The recording of "Clockwork Angels" began in April 2010 with Grammy Award-winning producer Nick Raskulinecz (FOO FIGHTERS, DEFTONES) — who also collaborated with the band on their last studio album, 2007's "Snakes & Arrows".

Lyrically, "Clockwork Angels" chronicles a young man's quest across a lavish and colorful world of
steampunk and alchemy as he attempts to follow his dreams. The story
features lost cities, pirates, anarchists, an exotic carnival, and a
rigid Watchmaker who imposes precision on every aspect of daily life.
The novelization of "Clockwork Angels" is being written by science fiction writer Kevin J. Anderson in collaboration with RUSH drummer and lyricist Neil Peart.

"Clockwork Angels" track listing:

01. Caravan

02. BU2B
03. Clockwork Angels
04. The Anarchist
05. Carnies
06. Halo Effect
07. Seven Cities Of Gold
08. The Wreckers
09. Headlong Flight
10. BU2B2
11. Wish Them Well
12. The Garden

1 comment:

ms said...

To be honest, I am less excited about this album than with Snakes and Arrows. I found myself relistening to a lot of songs long after that CD came out in 2007 and revisiting them in the same period of time than with Clockwork Angels. And even then I don’t Snakes is even in the Top 10 of all Rush albums ever released. The best song is Carnies, it is the most heaviest track other than BU2B and Headlong Flight are highlights. If they album was heavy all the way through it could rival something like Moving Pictures or Hemispheres. But since they got self indulgent with acoustics, sappy orchestra sections, overly dramatic lyrical imagery and rewriting the songs with the same song structures over and over (Halo Effect = Workin’ Them Angels = Nobody’s Hero), (Caravan = Far Cry = One Little Victory), (Carnies = Nocturne), (Wish Them Well = Carve Away the Stone), etc. They tried to do a concept record/piece like 2112 and Hemispheres and weren’t successful. Disguising this concept album was nothing more than Neil Peart’s usual opinions and his ever tired retelling of his life’s tragedies while coupling with literary references from Shakespeare.