Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Ohmphrey To Relase New Album

OHMphrey, a jam band supergroup, which features three members of the prog rock/veteran jam band Umphrey's McGee (keyboardist Joel Cummins, guitarist Jake Cinninger and drummer Kris Myers), and OHM guitarist (former Megadeth guitarist), Chris Poland along with bassist Robertino Pagliari (a.k.a. "Pag").
OHMphrey's latest effort, the unforgettable, and soon-to-be-classic, Posthaste, finds these five extraordinary artists creating instrumental music with a unified voice – once again. The album's seven original instrumental compositions, and two bonus live tracks never meander. Simply put, Posthaste contains some of the most thought-provoking, elastic and heavy jam band music that has ever been made.
"Composing these songs was something we all did together," says Cummins.
"One of the best analogies I can give is 'Simon Says for Musicians', where we're trying to organize these musical ideas in the moment."
"Everybody contributed to these songs," says six-string fretless bassist, Pag. "Once an idea popped out, it was like, 'Oh, I have a melody…' Or, 'Oh, I have a rhythm part that works with that …' These ideas just molded together, as if we had been working together forever, you know?"
"We all have this kind of synchronicity," says Poland. "It's kind of an overused word, but we have it. Whatever we're doing, it works."

No comments: