Tuesday, June 10, 2008

The Aurora Project signs to The Laser’s Edge

Dutch progressive rock band The Aurora Project has signed to the American label The Laser's Edge. The second album, titled Shadow Border, is being mixed at the moment by Joost van den Broek (Ayreon, After Forever) and will be released worldwide in September.
The Aurora Project debuted in 2005 with the album Unspoken Words, released by DVS Records. It was critically acclaimed in the international music press and got raving reviews. As a result the band shared the stage with bands like Pain of Salvation, Riverside en Van Den Plas, toured in Belgium and Germany and was invited to international progressive rock festivals like Progpower and Symforce.
After DVS Records seized business in 2007, the band had to look for a new label. Guitarist Remco van den Berg explains: "Our first record was obviously not missed out since we got various offers from record companies. The Laser's Edge immediately appealed to us, they've got great bands and history, worldwide distribution and are thrilled to work on the project. We are proud to be part of the family!"
Just as the first, the new album, Shadow Border, will be a concept album. The record contains seven tracks, including a 17-minute title track. Joost van den Broek, famous for his work for Ayreon and After Forever, signed for the recording, mixing and producer credits. Guitarist Remco van den Berg explains "Joost van den Broek is an absolute bullseye! He's a very nice guy and a real metalhead. You will definately hear this back in the mix. We cannot wait for the moment it will blow out of the speakers." The album was recorded in the famous Dutch Excess studio (Epica, Gorefest) and the album will be mastered by the legendary Bob Katz who received several Grammy's for his work in the past. In the fall, the band will go on tour to promote the album. An extensive production and video diary of the making of the album has been made available on

No comments: